Alexey Moskvin

Baltic Exchange and beyond

Bude is not just a funny word.

with 2 comments


I am a savage. I turn up at some strange places, ask locals weird questions, hair is like a mop after the helmet, glasses splattered with flies. I’m a savage, not even a stranger. For every lovely and picturesque stop my needs are ultimately reduced to finding food, petrol, a place to pee, taking a photo, ransacking the nearest coffee shop, stealing a wife… Well, maybe not the wife thing.

But, I mean, it is an ultimate anti Homo sapiens experience. Forget herding. Forget bonds. Scrap the roots. Everyone is for themselves. It is life speeded up: constantly on the move, the new connections are discarded almost as quickly as found, no relation to anything and anyone and there isn’t even a need in one. Exchange smiles with someone at the petrol station and hurriedly forget their face. Places are flashing by and mixing and merging into one indefinite mass.

Only photos can pin stuff down, arrange, point at, locate. And no, there was no need to discolour the landscape, like those icky examples one sees in any amateur portfolios. It’s funny how it turned out – bleached out and darkened down, only the bit of rust on those conical roofs and odd people appearing with their kayaks… It’s funny that I have to apologise for a landscape.

Bude. I don’t really have much to say about Bude. I went there to touch the Atlantic ocean. I did. The purpose of Bude has been served, it can be discarded until next time and replaced with thoughts, that are twisting and turning in ones head, constantly interrupted by scraps of music, remembered and forgotten.

On Saturday I sort of messed up my dinner… I guess I need to think about it better next time or stop on the way. Who knew that in every pub here they’d stop serving food at 9pm? So, it’s a pack of crisps, a pint and an orange for you tonight mister. But I’m outside the pub on a canal and listening to a live jazz. Totally worth missing a dinner, if it comes down to that.

Well, not too hungry anyway. My lunch consisted of a cold pasty, which was delicious but I was wondering if it actually needed cooking, a coffee and an awesome slab of dark chocolate with almonds and cherries. Perfect. But while Ilfracomb could provide a perfect slab of chocolate, I had to look hard for a town view that wouldn’t be obscured by inflatable theme parks, portable loos or other attractions (like mini golf) of a seaside resort town.

Written by Alexey Moskvin

12 April 2011 at 17:44

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Alexey,

    Thank you for sharing your travel experiences in the West of England with me – it is fascinating reading about the travels of another using the same mode of transport as I usually use, but seeing things from a completely different perspective.

    Really enjoy your writing style and the images you have posted.

    Looking forward to our own “Tour of the Realm Experience” at the end of the month.

    Think I might have cracked the Sat Nav thing. Stefan came round last night and I have switched to a Garmin Base Camp Software which works better with my MAC. Still not as intuitive as it should be, but then nothing is perfect.

    Regards,

    Stephen

    Stephen Richard Blurton

    12 April 2011 at 18:12

  2. If this is a foretaste of things to come…..bring it on!

    Peter Hugo

    12 April 2011 at 18:55


Leave a Reply

