Alexey Moskvin

Baltic Exchange and beyond

London to Lille

with 2 comments

When your left hand is on the ditch side of the road, you’re home…

I’m not meeting Claire until 11pm tonight, so I’m lagging some of my luggage with me. And remember that savage thing I was telling you about? So, I had to change into civilian clothes right on the street, next to the bike, so there. I just didn’t fancy walking about in biking gear all evening, so a little embarrassment was totally worth it. Now it’s comfy shorts, sandals and a polo. Park, bench, by the canal.

My French is… well, it seems to be elsewhere. I can almost hear the cogs turning when I’m searching for words and the ones that float up straight away are rarely correct. I parked on a street. ‘Bon machine, monsieur’ a handsome passerby says, I look up, half a second of searching, acknowledgement, ‘S’il vous plais… [fuck!] Merci, monsieur!’ He smiles.
A road up to here was not particularly eventful. The sat nav gone mental on the ferry and was constantly trying to point me to the motorways, never mind the carefully laid waypoints on a small road nearby. So, in turn I gave up on it and every time it told me to go to the motorway, I didn’t. It worked – I got here!
A slightly late departure and I got to the ferry 10 minutes before the end of check in. That’s with me going 90-100 mph for most of the motorway. Apart from a couple of occasions – I had to slow down to look at a full size condo towed by a truck – pale green, textured walls, roof, windows and doors, although I couldn’t see any furniture inside. But I wouldn’t have been at all surprised if I saw a family having breakfast in there. Second, there was a policeman. Who, luckily for everyone, was going around 80, but still, who would want to overtake a policeman going 80? So, there was a growing bunch of cars behind him, overtaking each other every now and again, just for the fun of it, until he turned off somewhere.
The ferry. Old ladies with newspapers, salty windows, the loo with cabin doors opening and closing in sequence with every ferry’s movement, France is constantly on the horizon, even if it was quite hazy.
A bunch of happy lads, on their way to Belgium for some sporty event. A coffee and a muffin. Which reminds me that I have to go and find some food. Over.

Written by Alexey Moskvin

8 May 2011 at 23:18

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As Gerard Hoffnung said in one of his comedy sketches,
    ” Ignore all left and right hand road signs, these are merely political slogans”. But do remember the right side traffic has priority and they are ruthless drivers
    in maintaining this.

    Beware of Dutch bicyles as they don’t obey ANY rules.

    cheers,
    Michael

    Michael

    9 May 2011 at 07:36

    • ha ha. It’s a long way still until I see a dutch bicycle. Germans were pretty ruthless too.

      Alexey Moskvin

      12 May 2011 at 08:01


Leave a Reply

