Alexey Moskvin

Baltic Exchange and beyond

Liege to Olpe

with 3 comments

Myriam gives me a couple of sea shells, from Italy she says, putting another one in her pocket for luck. Then she adds a piece of turquoise from Costa Rica. She lived in Panama for a while, and kept a few bits of turquoise from those times.

It’s funny how a shell of a city can suddenly get filled with feelings and wonder and fun. This morning we went to a market with Myriam and Steve (they do look so alike). I brought Steve on the bike from Chaudfountaine.

They made me want to return to Liege. The statue of devil in the cathedral. A wonderful insalata bar with the salad that the owner has been making for the last forty years – a mix of everything with mayo, followed by a pub where everyone can sing and, surely, someone’s on the stage.

I miss all those people already, that’s what makes everything connect, that is what keeps memories afloat. There is a longing to attach, nagging in your mind, even if has to be shun away, the long strings are hooked, tangled and wielded in one’s brain, even if reluctantly.

I missed a turn once. But I liked what I saw, so I carried on for a bit longer before making a u-turn. And then I missed it again. Cursing and making another u-turn and going slowly… Oh, thaaat is my road? Oh, well.

The hotel is superb, the view to die for. I quickly spread all over the room, wash the t-shirt in the basin. Now, this isn’t an endorsement but I am super happy with the Icebreaker stuff – it gets dry almost instantly, so no fear of finding clothes still wet in the morning… Watching sunset over my schnitzel and dark beer.

Awww, that’s nice.

Written by Alexey Moskvin

9 May 2011 at 22:54

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Alexey
    Well done, you are under way and doing it!! Where next?

    xx d

    david

    10 May 2011 at 00:34

  2. Hello Alexey
    Great to keep up with your progress via the blog. Lovely photos – makes me quite envious! Enjoy…
    The sun’s still shining here too btw…
    C

    Colin

    13 May 2011 at 11:50

    • Thanks Colin! It’s my day off today, so I’m trying to keep up with updates

      Alexey Moskvin

      14 May 2011 at 09:18


Leave a Reply

