Alexey Moskvin

Baltic Exchange and beyond

Olpe to Celle

with 4 comments


A raven comes to my table at breakfast. That’s what it probably does every morning as he seems to know what’s where and is not scared of me at all.
I set off for Celle. Wonderful windy roads. Ah, my turn at the roundabout is closed… I have to go straight and find a place to stop to look at the map. A guy comes over and asks something… ‘Road zuruck!’ I say, pointing towards to roundabout. ‘-Wohin?’ ‘-Hannover’ He tries to explain how to get to a motorway. ‘Nicht Autobahn’, I say, ‘Danke, I’ll find a way’. Smile and nod. Going back to the roundabout to see that cars are turning to the closed road. ‘Aha!’, I say, ‘Some local knowledge’, and follow the cars for about half a mile on the road that’s gradually getting stripped of all it’s surfaces until it gets to a fine gravel and, unsurprisingly, excavators digging in the middle of it shortly after. Everyone uses someone’s driveway to make a u-turn. Fudge local knowledge.
Some miles later a Harley under a small car. I think he probably jumped off it, letting the bike slide as I didn’t see anyone hurt. Just people looking confused and each dialling someone.

I have lunch in a field, on the outskirts of some town. A sugar kick from a cherry pie from a local supermarket.

I get to Celle and Wilfried and Manfried show me around town. It has about 80000 population and looks typically German, pretty and well groomed. I hear lots about the church, its bells and other sights. Buildings are dated from the 15th century. Time for dinner and sleep.


Written by Alexey Moskvin

13 May 2011 at 23:30

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like that first shot the best, did the bird just fly up there?

    Today's World In Pics

    14 May 2011 at 00:02

    • Thanks a lot! No, I just carry a stuffed raven and put it in shots every now and again :)))
      It looked like it knew what it was doing, so I presume it’s its usual place for breakfast too.

      Alexey Moskvin

      14 May 2011 at 09:16

  2. Good weather I see, that’s just what you need.

    michael

    14 May 2011 at 07:53

    • It’s been amazing. Apart from yesterday. But that’s the Gdansk – Kaliningrad story ūüôā

      Alexey Moskvin

      14 May 2011 at 09:17


Leave a Reply

