Alexey Moskvin

Baltic Exchange and beyond

Take 2: St Petersburg to Jyväskylä

with 6 comments

Leshka picks me up from the flat. It’s so cool to have him near. He was the one to meet me at the border, he is the one to take me through it this time. We’re setting off early in the morning to beat the crowds.

It’s terrific to be on the road again. I’m thrilled by the road lines. Anticipating getting being reunited with the bike. Great. Inspiring. It’s been restarted. I’m awake and my senses are on again. Thank you all who didn’t let me come back on a ferry.

Thank you Richard
Thank you Mark G
Thank you Michael
Thank you Jon
Thank you Edward
Thank you Oded
Thank you Mark D
Thank you Frances
Thank you Olivier
Thank you Stephen
Thank you Susan
Thank you hubs
Thank you Nigel
Thank you Peter
Thank you David
Thank you all who participated and supported me.

It’s funny how the first couple of weeks were dragging along and felt like it would take forever to get to St Petersburg. Now the rest three weeks of the journey feel like nothing. There is nothing that I couldn’t deal with, I am calm and relaxed, even if some of the rebuilding and re-planning isn’t finished due to everyone seems to be on holiday. But at least Lesha is with me and the first night we are staying in a hotel in Jyväskylä.

After a chat, handshakes and paperwork we are setting off from Lappeenranta towards the depths of Finland. The bike handles well, sounds slightly different, probably because of the new exhaust manifold. I am feeling a bit tense but get better as the miles ticking by.

Mixed roads, rocks, evergreen forest and plenty of water. Beautiful but does get samey after a while. One can only be entertained by the colour of the rocks – any possible combinations from gray to bright orange and purple.

Jyväskylä looks like… well, it doesn’t really look like anything. Nice waterfront, railway lines, pedestrian roads, cyclists, over and underpasses (the waterfront seems to be cut off from the center of town by a motorway). We’ve done quite a lot of miles today and just wandering the streets looking for beer, food and wi-fi. And we end up in a pub after all where I have breaded raindeer liver and a pint of Kilkenny. I still wonder why I can find that beer everywhere in the world but not in London. A reason for a journalistic investigation, no less.

A bunch of teenagers stop me on the main street, asking to take a picture of them. Cheeky and shy at the same time, they probably didn’t expect me to seriously respond and line them up in the middle of a street. I leave them my email address to get in touch for pictures. Annalee shakes my hand and Tanya shouts thanks when we part.

Written by Alexey Moskvin

10 July 2011 at 11:24

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great that you are on your way again. I look forward to news of your progres and to seeing your triumphal return to London. Hugh.

    hugh macpherson

    10 July 2011 at 11:39

    • Thank you very much for the suggestions. I wish we did take the Pistohiekka road! Unfortunately, the rest of the amazing places were way off the route I had planned. I wish I could see all the sights on the way but with the tight schedule and plenty of miles to do one has to be ruthless, trying to get the best out of what one gets on the way.

      Alexey Moskvin

      11 July 2011 at 00:28

  2. An adventure to be sure getting to your home city. Now the next stage where Swedish Miles confuse
    the motorist into thinking that distances are smaller than they actually are, unless,ofcourse, the Swedes have gone metric. Lots of lovely scenery, I wish I was with you.

    Michael

    11 July 2011 at 09:41

  3. Great to get your latest, and hear you sounding so enthusiastic again – also to read your report and see some recent photos. Take care, go safely and enjoy!
    *Uncle*

    Richard Bolley

    11 July 2011 at 21:22

  4. Jyväskylä is a beautiful town where I lived in a couple of years back. Your photos brought back wonderful memories of my stay there. I’m glad to have stumbled upon your blog.

    If you get a chance to make an extra stop, do go to Savonlinna. I was there in winter, but I’ve heard that it’s even more beautiful in summer/ autumn.

    Have safe journey and lotsa fun!

    Eve

    22 July 2011 at 04:56


Leave a Reply

